Fenton Aldeburgh First Collection Prize


The 2015 Fenton Aldeburgh First Collection Prize is now open for entries.

The winning poet will receive a cheque for £2,500, a week of ‘protected’ writing time on the East Suffolk coast, plus a fee-paying invitation to read at the 2016 Aldeburgh Poetry Festival – a unique opportunity to reach Britain’s largest and most appreciative poetry audience.


The Judges

Patience Agbabi’s fourth collection, Telling Tales (Canongate), was shortlisted for the 2014 Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry. Her poem, The Doll’s House, was shortlisted for the 2014 Forward Prize for Best Single Poem. Nominated as a ‘Next Generation Poet’ in 2004, she is an acclaimed performer and is a Fellow in Creative Writing at Oxford Brookes University.

Tiffany Atkinson won the Aldeburgh First Collection Prize for Kink and Particle (Seren) in 2007. Her second collection Catulla et al was shortlisted for the Wales Book of the Year in 2011, her third So Many Moving Parts (Bloodaxe) was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation in 2014. A Professor in Creative Writing at UEA, she recently won the Medicine Unboxed Prize for a forthcoming collection.

Robert Seatter (Chair) published his third collection Writing King Kong (Seren) in 2011. He has worked as an EFL teacher in Italy and France, an actor, a journalist, in publishing and more recently for the BBC – as Communication & Partnership Manager and now as Head of BBC History. He joined The Poetry Trust’s Board of Trustees in 2008.


In mid-September 2015 a shortlist of up to five titles will be announced. This year’s winner will be announced on Friday 6 November at the opening main reading of the 27th Aldeburgh Poetry Festival, 6-9 November 2015.

Details on how to enter are here

Listen to last year’s winner, Helen Mort, talk about the experience here

Unfortunately we cannot return books

Fenton Arts Trust logo

The Fenton Arts Trust is an arts charity
which focusses its efforts specifically
on the support of artists at the
beginning of their careers.